24h Le Mans
14/11/2017 15:01

WEC - Preview of the Bahrain finale

The 2017 World Endurance Championship (WEC) season will come to a close in Sakhir at the Bahrain International Circuit on Saturday, November 18th. The Bapco 6 Hours of Bahrain will decide the outcomes in several classes given that six titles remain up for grabs...

WEC - Preview of the Bahrain finale

The Stakes

In LMP1, two titles - Manufacturers and Drivers (Brendon Hartley, Timo Bernhard and Earl Bamber, 24 Hours of Le Mans winners) - have been secured by Porsche. Meanwhile, Porsche and Toyota both have four victories to their credit this season and will be looking to add one more to the 2017 tally.

All eyes will be fixated on the LMP2 class with suspense at a fever pitch throughout the weekend. The FIA Endurance LMP2 Teams Trophy will either go to Vaillante Rebellion (with its four-point lead in the championship), Jackie Chan DC Racing or Signatech-Alpine Matmut. As for the drivers, with their third win of the season scored in China, Bruno Senna and Julien Canal (#31 ORECA 07-Gibson) are currently in the lead ahead of Ho-Pin Tung, Thomas Laurent and Oliver Jarvis (#38 ORECA 07-Gibson, winners at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in LMP2, four points behind) and Gustavo Menezes (#36 Alpine A470-Gibson). 

It's open season in the LMGTE Pro class with eight drivers still contenders. James Calado and Alessandro Pier Guidi (AF Corse's #51 Ferrari 488 GTE) lead the championship in the Drivers category, just two points ahead of the duo Lietz-Makowiecki (#91 Porsche 911 RSR). Priaulx-Tincknell (#67 Ford GT) and  Rigon-Bird (AF Corse's #71 Ferrari 488 GTE) are a little further down the list but still in the running! The World Champion GT Manufacturers title has been claimed by Ferrari, but the Teams trophy is still up for grabs for AF Corse, Porsche GT Team and Ford Chip Ganassi.

In the LMGTE Am class, three competitors still have the opportunity to score a title. The #98 Aston Martin Vantage driven by Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Mathias Lauda is currently leading the championship ahead of the #77 Porsche 911 RSR of Dempsey-Proton Racing (Marvin Dienst, Matteo Cairoli and Christian Ried) and Clearwater Racing's #61 Ferrari 488 GTE (Keita Sawa, Weng Sun Mok and Matt Griffin).


Like the last few rounds of the World Endurance Championship (WEC), 26 cars will take the start at the finale of the 2017 season. The only new addition to the entry list is none other than Loïc Duval. The World Endurance Champion and winner at the 2013 24 Hours of Le Mans will take the wheel of G-Drive Racing's #26 ORECA 07-Gibson in the LMP2 class. He will join forces with Roman Rusinov and Léo Roussel, the latter on board once again after his impressive performance at Shanghai and his title in the European Le Mans Series.

After missing the races at Fuji and Shanghai, Mike Wainwright will return at the helm of Gulf Racing UK's #86 Porsche 911 RSR.


The start of the Bapco 6 Hours of Bahrain will be given on Saturday, November 18th at 4:00 p.m. local time (2:00 p.m. in the U.K.). 

Check out the video teaser for the final round of the WEC season below: 


PHOTO: The #31 ORECA 07-Gibson entered by Vaillante Rebellion (Julien Canal, Nicolas Prost and Bruno Senna) is currently in the lead of the FIA Endurance LMP2 Teams Trophy.

News history Last news