24h Le Mans
08/09/2018 - 17:31

WEC - A few changes to the driver line-ups on the starting grid at the 6 Hours of Fuji

Though the entry list for the 6 Hours of Fuji - fifth round of the 2018-2019 World Endurance Championship (WEC) Super Season - has been released, several driver line-ups are still not complete.
WEC - A few changes to the driver line-ups on the starting grid at the 6 Hours of Fuji

In LMP1, only head driver Oliver Webb has been confirmed by Austrian team ByKOLLES Racing to take the wheel of the #4 ENSO CLM P1/01. After skipping the Silverstone round, CEFC TRSM Racing returns to the championship with only one Ginetta G60-LT-P1 (#6), equipped with a new engine after AER replaced Mechachrome. The Chinese outfit is taking the opportunity to combine its two driver line-ups from the 24 Hours of Le Mans: Mike Simpson, Oliver Rowland and Alex Brundle will take turns on the track.

In LMP2, the third driver set to join Erwin Creed and Romano Ricci at the wheel of Larbre Compétition's #50 Ligier JS P217 has yet to be revealed, and Jean-Eric Vergne will replace 2013 Le Mans winner Loïc Duval who has an obligation with Audi for a race in DTM, the German touring car championship.

No changes have been made within the LMGTE Pro class since the 6 Hours of Silverstone, with all line-ups now comprised of two drivers, whereas in LMGTE Am, for now only Matteo Cairoli and Giorgio Roda figure on the list for Dempsey-Proton Racing's #88 Porsche 911 RSR. Lastly, Austrian driver Thomas Preining will join Michael Wainwright and Ben Barker in lieu of Australian Alex Davison at the wheel of Gulf Racing's #86 Porsche.

The free practice and qualifying sessions at the 6 Hours of Fuji are scheduled for 12-13 October, with the start set for Sunday 14 October at 11:00 local time.

Provisional Entry List