24h Le Mans
11/01/2017 11:01

LM GTE Am at Le Mans 2012-2016 (1) – Review

The 2017 24 Hours of Le Mans press conference will be held on Thursday 2 February. In the meantime, let’s look back at the winners in the LM GTE Am class since the World Endurance Championship was introduced in 2012.

LM GTE Am at Le Mans 2012-2016 (1) – Review

Fifteen drivers from six nations have scooped the LM GTE Am title since 2012: France (Patrick Bornhauser and Julien Canal in 2012, and Raymond Narac, Christophe Bourret and Jean-Karl Vernay in 2013), Portugal (Pedro Lamy in 2012), Denmark (Kristian Poulsen, David Heinemeier-Hansson and Nicki Thiim in 2014), Russia (Viktor Shaytar and Aleksey Basov in 2015), Italy (Andrea Bertolini in 2015) and the United States (Bill Sweedler, Jeff Seagal and Townsend Bell in 2016).

The four manufacturers contesting the World Endurance Championship since 2012 have all chalked up at least one LM GTE Am class victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Ferrari has won twice (in 2015 and 2016), while Corvette, Porsche and Aston Martin have each won once, in 2012, 2013 and 2014 respectively.

The tight battles out on the track have resulted in five different teams finishing on the top step of the podium: Larbre Compétition (2012), Imsa Performance Matmut (2013), Aston Martin Racing (2014), SMP Racing (2015) and Scuderia Corsa (2016).

These five teams represent four different nations: France (Larbre Compétition and Imsa Performance Matmut), UK (Aston Martin Racing), Russia (SMP Racing) and USA (Scuderia Corsa).

Ferrari has taken the most LM GTE Am podium places at the 24 Hours of Le Mans since 2012 with eight, followed by Porsche (five). Corvette and Aston Martin each have just one podium to their name – their class wins in 2012 and 2014.


Photo: Ferrari has made the Le Mans LM GTE Am podium eight times (including two wins) since 2012. Last year’s runners-up, AF Corse and its line-up of Emmanuel Collard-François Perrodo-Rui Águas went on to take the 2016 FIA Endurance Trophy for LM GTE Am Teams and Drivers.

News history Last news