24h Le Mans
12/02/2020 - 11:31

ELMS – Richard Mille Racing Team's all-female driver line-up

Richard Mille Racing Team is set to compete in the 2020 and 2021 European Le Mans Series seasons with an ORECA 07-Gibson in the LMP2 class. The car will be entrusted it to an all-female driver line-up and technical support will be provided by Philippe Sinault's Signatech team, winner of the FIA Endurance LMP2 Teams Trophy.
ELMS – Richard Mille Racing Team's all-female driver line-up

Richard Mille Racing Team is gearing up for its first European Le Mans Series season, fielding in the LMP2 class an ORECA 07-Gibson equipped with Michelin tires and shared by an all-female driver line-up. FIA Endurance Commission President Richard Mille is working to make motorsport more accessible to women, as drivers but also as engineers, mechanics and strategists.

The three competitors were chosen following a rigorous selection process which included the input of drivers supported by the Women In Motorsport Commission. The car will be driven by Katherine Legge (former IndyCar car driver and IMSA GD runner-up), Tatiana Calderón (Formula 1 test driver for Alfa Romeo-Sauber) and young German talent Sophia Floersch. The teams' goals for 2020 will be to familiarize itself with the specific aspects of endurance racing – like tire management and fuel consumption – then take advantage of the high level of competition in the ELMS to progress toward a podium finish.

Richard Mille Racing Team will participate in the 2020 and 2021 European Le Mans Series seasons and hopes to take the start in the 88th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans (13-14 June).

Last year, an all-female driver line-up took part in the 87th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. At the wheel of a Ferrari 488 GTE fielded by Kessel Racing in LMGTE Am, Manuela Gostner, Rahel Frey and Michelle Gatting finished 39th overall and ninth in their class. Since the creation of the legendary race in 1923, 59 women have participated in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.


24 Hours of Le Mans Ticketing 2020 - €89