24h Le Mans
09/05/2019 - 18:01

ELMS – a 42-car grid for the 4 Hours of Monza

This week, the 2019 European Le Mans Series heads to Italy for the 4 Hours of Monza, the second round of the season. There will be 42 cars on the grid.
ELMS – a 42-car grid for the 4 Hours of Monza

The 4 Hours of Monza grid comprises 19 cars in the LMP2 class, 14 in LMP3 and 9 in LMGTE (Le Mans Grand Tourisme Endurance). After its victory at the 4 Hours of Le Castellet, DragonSpeed’s #21 Oreca 07-Gibson leads the provisional championship standings. Dutch driver Renger Van Der Zande will be replacing Ben Hanley in that car at Monza, sharing driving duties with Henrik Hedman and James Allen. Italian outfit Cetilar R. Villorba Corse will be present as part of its preparations for the 87th 24 Hours of Le Mans (15-16 June). The #47 Dallara P217-Gibson fielded by the Italian team will be driven by Roberto Lacorte, Giorgio Sernagiotto and Andrea Belicchi.

The first collective test session took place yesterday. The Cool Racing #37 Oreca 07-Gibson clocked up the best lap time with 1:36.183, in front of the Idec Sport #28 Oreca 07-Gibson (1:36.277). In LMP3, the #17 Norma M 30-Nissan fielded by Ultimate scored the fastest lap (1:44.973), while in LMGTE, the #56 Porsche 911 RSR from Team Project 1 took the top spot (1:48.147).

The Kessel Racing #83 Ferrari F88 GTE AVO, with its all-female driver line-up of Manuela Gostner, Rahel Frey and Michelle Gatting, will be taking to the track again at Monza. The FIA Women in Motorsports commission is lending its support to Kessel Racing’s entry in the 87th 24 Hours of Le Mans this year.

Schedule for the 4 Hours of Monza:

  • Free Practice 1, Friday 10 May at 11:15 (90 minutes)
  • Bronze Driver Collective Test, Friday 10 May at 15:40 (30 minutes)
  • Free Practice 2, Saturday 11 May at 09:00 (90 minutes)
  • Qualifying – LMGTE, Saturday 11 May at 13:40 (10 minutes)
  • Qualifying – LMP3, Saturday 11 May at 14:00 (10 minutes)
  • Qualifying - LMP2, Saturday 11 May at 14:20 (10 minutes)
  • Race, Sunday 12 May at 12:00 (4 hours)

Full information on the European Le Mans Series website.

>> Full 4 Hours of Monza entry list <<